Sweet Little Smile

You see I have this sweet little girl. She is clever and funny and just LOVES to wear pink. One of her favourite things to do is to climb trees. I love tying her long hair into plaits with ribbons and flowers in the end. Let’s face it, I love playing dress ups with my sweet little girl. She hangs off every word I say and laughs at my jokes. She’s four.

I woke up one day and realised that my sweet little four year old girl is twelve. She’s still very clever and quite funny (when she wants to be). I regularly find her up the tree out the front, usually engrossed in her latest novel. She asks me to tie just one plait into her hair every morning, but let’s give the ribbon and flowers a miss thanks. She prefers wearing purple and black these days, in fact she wouldn’t be caught dead wearing pink. Apparently, it’s ‘babyish’. And she’s going to High School next year. My sweet little girl.

Call it old age, perhaps it’s hormones, but I spilled a few tears piecing this layout together. I think I’ll blame the mailman. He arrived with her High School forms and I had to sign her away.

When there was no threat of tears on the forecast, I decided to pull out my new Vanilla Shimmer Smooch Spritz. So much more ‘shimmery’ in real life, it added that subtle bit of bling that my flowers deserved. Anyway, bling always makes me smile. 🙂

Ink: Melon Mambo, Crumb Cake

Stamp Set: Fabulous Phrases

Paper: Flirtatious Specialty Designer Series Paper, First Edition Specialty Designer Series Paper, Melon Mambo 12×12 textured cardstock, Pink Pirouette 12×12 textured cardstock, Pretty in Pink 12×12 textured cardstock.

Accessories: Bigz L Fun Flowers Die, Big Shot, Daffodil Delight 1 1/4″ Striped Grosgrain ribbon, Brights Designer buttons, hemp twine, snail adhesive, Lace Ribbon Border punch, Blossom Petals Builder punch, sponge daubers, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Vanilla Shimmer Smooch Spritz

So I showed my sweet little girl my latest layout. She said “That’s nice Mum, but it’s a bit pink”. Bless her.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Little Smile

Leave a Reply

