It’s beginning to look a lot like Xmas!

Well I asked on Facebook and you told me that you would like to see some Xmas card projects in my next blog post – so here they are! 🙂

I also had one lovely lady ask me to show her a project using Crystal Effects . . . keep reading peeps! 😉

As you know, I recently held a stall at the Narara Primary School Fete. The basic Xmas card that you can see at bottom right is the one that people could make and take with them on the day. Using the beautiful classic ‘Baroque Motifs‘ stamp set and ‘Delightful Decorations‘, along with the Ornament punch, the card was very quick and easy to create! When you’re making a lot of Xmas cards, a card like this one is ideal as you can create your own little assembly line.

I then created 3 different versions of this card using different techniques. These different ideas and techniques are what I teach at my papercraft classes. The next class is coming up on December 2nd – don’t forget to email me and book yourself in!

The first version was dusted with some Dazzling Diamonds glitter. I simply traced around the areas I wanted ‘blinged’ with my Two Way Glue Pen and glittered to my heart’s content! They were ‘popped’ up using Stampin’ Dimensionals and gently folded up to create some depth.

The next card had a touch of class added to it, with some Pearl Jewels popped across the card. I also added some of the beautiful new Cherry Cobbler seam binding. It’s the softest and ‘flowiest’ (is that a word?) ribbon I have EVER used . . .lush!

Finally, my card which I created using Crystal Effects. What is Crystal Effects I hear you ask? The best way I can describe it is that it’s a ‘Dimensional Laquer’. You can control how you apply it, from adding dewdrops on flowers to covering larger areas like I have to create a ‘glassy’ effect.

I used it to create a vintage ‘crackle’ effect, which went beautifully with my use of the EnFrancais background stamp, hemp twine and daubing of Crumb Cake. Once applied (hint: don’t ever shake it, it makes bubbles which are VERY annoying to get out!) and dried, I popped the bauble into the freezer for a short while. I then twisted the bauble so that the Crystal Effects would crack to create the vintage glass look. The more random the cracks, the better! Anyway, random is THE word of the moment (Maaaan, I have been spending WAAAAY too much time teaching Year 6 lately!).

Well, I hope my little Ornament cards inspired you to start, or continue creating your own Xmas projects. Stay tuned – I have more to post very soon!!!!

Stamps: Baroque Motifs, Delightful Decorations, En Francais

Paper: Perfect Plum, Cherry Cobbler, Whisper White

Ink: Perfect Plum, Cherry Cobbler, Old Olive, Crumb Cake

Accessories: Ornament punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Pearl Jewels, Hemp Twine, Cherry Cobbler Seam Binding, Two way glue pen, Dazzling Diamonds Glitter, Scallop edge punch

One thought on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Xmas!

Leave a Reply

